Login Register Sign up for the GRM e-newsletter

Login to post Forums » $2012 Classifieds » Rediculous $$$ or I'm out of touch.
  • 914Driver

    June 18, 2010 6:46 p.m. 914Driver SuperDork

    2001 Goldwing - $2850 ??

    http://boston.craigslist.org/gbs/mcy/1789088431.html

    .

  • MrJoshua

    June 18, 2010 6:55 p.m. MrJoshua SuperDork

    That looks like craigslist scam to me:
    -Entire ad is one big picture instead of a mixture of pictures and text
    -Contact email is off of craigslist
    -inappropriate price

    This random line above and below the picture is fun as well:
    "not due to statistical coincidences, but intentional complicity and manipulation."

    Good chance you email Tina and she is out of state and wants you to pay with some ebay pay system you have never heard of.

  • 914Driver

    June 18, 2010 7:12 p.m. 914Driver SuperDork

    Hmmm....

    Weight in kg, (lbs. in parentheses) implies not U.S.

    Who lists bore & stroke?

    You're right about the ad, I wanted one picture and got the whole gag.

    Too good to be true.

    Wonder how Tina looks.

  • stuart in mn

    June 18, 2010 8:43 p.m. stuart in mn SuperDork

    Any Craigslist ad with a ridiculously low price and "contact me directly at scamscam@scammail.com" in it is a scam.

    Until I got bored with it, part of my nightly routine was flagging ads on my local Craigslist; every day I'd flag 20 or more of 'em and the next day there would be 20 more.

  • Spinout007

    June 18, 2010 11:45 p.m. Spinout007 Dork

    3k for an 01 wing?!?! ZOMG GOTTA GO GET IT NOW!

    SURVEY SAYS? XXX

    A nice 84 limited will run you 3k, much less one less than 10 years old... though they were speed governed at like 110 or 120mph.. My dad's 84 will run 130+ Seems like a shame to put speed limiter on an 1800cc cruiser like that. The wheel base is so long, and they are so stable at speed.

  • BoxheadTim

    June 19, 2010 1:46 a.m. BoxheadTim Dork

    914Driver wrote:

    Wonder how Tina looks.

    500lb and is only called 'Tina' on the weekend?

  • minimac

    June 19, 2010 6:10 a.m. minimac SuperDork

    About a month ago this was posted on CL in the SYR area. Big time scam., to harvest email addresses. The story at that time was it was her departed husbands bike. You think they'd be smart enough to use a different name. Different ad, same scammer.

  • Woody

    June 19, 2010 8:43 a.m. Woody SuperDork

    I found a "woman" selling an '84 Porsche 911 last week for $6500. Sure.

    When I suspect a CL scam, I take the cursor and copy a sentence or two from the ad and then paste it into the Google search bar. I usually come up with a dozen copies of the same ad on Craigslist all across the country.

  • NONACK

    June 19, 2010 8:50 a.m. NONACK New Reader

    Tina is a bitch, last time I ran into her she was selling an FD rx7 for $3k. Needless to say it didn't exist.

  • 93celicaGT2

    June 19, 2010 10:10 a.m. 93celicaGT2 SuperDork

    Does that really have a 6 cylinder?

  • 914Driver

    June 19, 2010 10:58 a.m. 914Driver SuperDork

    Yes. Locost donor?

  • minimac

    June 19, 2010 2:35 p.m. minimac SuperDork

    93celicaGT2 wrote:

    Does that really have a 6 cylinder?

    Sure does! Mine is a 1500cc(1.5litre) and the newer models are 1800(1.8!). Even has a reverse.

  • AngryCorvair

    June 19, 2010 5:13 p.m. AngryCorvair SuperDork

    BoxheadTim wrote:

    914Driver wrote:

    Wonder how Tina looks.

    500lb and is only called 'Tina' on the weekend?

    PIITB?

  • John Brown

    June 19, 2010 6:17 p.m. John Brown SuperDork

    See photos in the 275/40r17 ad please

 
Tire Rack- Revolutionizing Tire Buying

You'll need to log in to post.