HillbillyHeathen
HillbillyHeathen
7/21/15 3:16 p.m.

Howdy from Colorado. The wife & I bought this about four years ago. We realized pretty quickly that the 1392cc wasn't going to cut it, it was blowing the smoke of death and the tranny made really bad noises too. We found a drivetrain available out of a Hillman Super Minx and had that installed (bolted in, no muss no fuss). I'm not a mechanic, don't have a garage or a lot of skillz.

Doing the swap got us up to 1725cc's (same as an Alpine), disc brakes in front, larger drums in the rear and a better hiway gear. An Alpine donated its tranny to our cause and life was good.

Fast forward another year or two & this motor it turns out has a fatal flaw or two so it too will need to be replaced. We've had in storage for a few years a full race dry sumped Lotus twincam that's going to go into the Hillman. Tranny will be a close ratio four speed Cortina box out of another projet that's become 'yard art' at this point. Will only run on race gas until we change cams but there's a restoration shop in town that sells 112 so we're good there for short trips. Will post pictures when I figure out how to tack them on.

Cheers, Cris

ps)) we tagged this as hot rod - custom because it's kind of what we're building here is a hot rodded (all British) Hillman, in the non painted (besides pinstriping) patinaed ratty rodish mode (& Hillman wasn't a choice on the pulldown list).

RossD
RossD PowerDork
7/21/15 3:39 p.m.

Sweet ride. Can we get some pictures?!?!

Sine_Qua_Non
Sine_Qua_Non Dork
7/21/15 3:51 p.m.
RossD wrote: Sweet ride. Can we get some pictures?!?!

+1.

wheelsmithy
wheelsmithy GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
7/21/15 4:58 p.m.

I, too would love to see pictures from sunny Colorado.

Step 1 Get a photobucket account.

Step 2 copy URL

Step 3 paste in the box that appears when you click the camera icon at the top of the yellow field in "Your Comment".

It is nice to share hard learned info.

HillbillyHeathen
HillbillyHeathen New Reader