Vworks
Vworks None
4/5/18 7:56 p.m.

Hello All,

long time lurker and Magazine reader, my first post here.

A little background; I have been building cars for quite a few years, lots of streetrod type stuff, more recently my version of a rat rod.  Always seems like I build something, finally get it on the road and than never use it.  I feel like my car hobby is laking a purpose lately, I need to build something that can do something other than putt around town.  

this leads me to my most recent project, a 1979 triumph spitfire (body tub, doors, windshield, roof, trunk lid from the original spitfire) tube frame, morgan aeromax inspired body, SBC, 5 spd, thunderbird 8.8 IRS.  

the project is at a point where it is almost complete, mechanically sound.  I am at a point where I either finish the project (interior and bodywork) as is and leave it a street rod, or change direction and install safety stuff and do something with it. 

I have a desire to join some kind of sanctioned race ( I do not expect to be competitive) and have been looking at all forms available in the northeast, from blackriver stages to new england hill climb, to autocross, ohio mile, .......    almost everything I have found the rules more/less push out "home built" vehicles, i.e. "must retain stock firewall, must retain factory drivetrain layout.....bla bla bla"

I am seeking some friendly advice,  what could be done with this car if anything? (assume I can bring it up to whatever safety standard is needed) has anyone turned a street/rat rod into a race car before?  should I cut my losses and just pickup a E30/subaru/mita? any thoughts are welcome.

captainawesome
captainawesome New Reader
4/5/18 8:45 p.m.