1 2 3 4
CarRacer
CarRacer New Reader
4/18/14 1:36 p.m.

Picked up an E30 roller chassis on my birthday as my next project now that I'm done racing for a while. Chassis is an 1987 325e with 114,000 on the clock. It seems pretty clean all around, doors, fenders, and trunk area is rust free. PO parked it and stole the drive train for another car after hitting a raccoon or something. That's why the front end is missing and the rear aftermarket bumper is cracked.

Plan is to put my Chump Chevette drivetrain in it, a 4G63 converted to rear wheel drive using a world class T5 from a Mustang, and drive it on the street as a fun weekend car. I hope to test fit the motor soon and see how many problems I'll have to solve on this swap. It'll be a different build mindset for me as well as I've never done a weekend car before. Previously it's either been DD builds or full track car builds.

yupididit
yupididit GRM+ Memberand Reader
4/18/14 2:25 p.m.

I have a huge headstart on you and you'll still be done before me. Plus I'm redoing a lot on my swap.

Lof8
Lof8 GRM+ Memberand Reader
4/18/14 2:59 p.m.

4G63 in an e30 seems like a great combo!

CarRacer
CarRacer New Reader
4/19/14 2:40 p.m.

Huge intake manifold and brake master cylinder interference. I thought about going to a Wilwood pedal setup like some of the V8 swap guys do, but I think cutting up a sheet metal intake manifold to clear everything is the most cost effective solution.