draco_auto_designs
draco_auto_designs None
4/22/16 8:39 p.m.

I am new to the forum, but I have stopped by a few times before and this seems like the place for a crazy budget oriented build. A bit about me, I am a senior in college working on a degree in Art with a graphic design emphasis. My works deals primarily on automotive subjects and related genres. Since I am a student and I currently have another very long term build, I want to keep this car as cheap as possible. My budget will hopefully stay below $2000 to stay challenge friendly.

Onto the car, I am buying a 1988 Yugo, probably because I might be crazy, for a mere $100. The car as be passed around a few times amongst our group of friends. I does run, but that doesn't matter with my plans. I'm interested in this car since 1) it's just $100 and 2) it weighs nothing. Curb wieght is 1800 lbs. I figure by the time I gut and cage it, it will weigh around 1600-1700 lbs. My plan is to do an engine and suspension swap with a Honda, Volkswagen or other import. My target power would be 150+ hp (factory is 50 hp). My current question is which swap will be best? I want a good availability of aftermarket parts so mainstream would be good. Before I start ripping the car apart I would like to get a plan together. I have found this to be the best method for staying on budget.

Acme Lab Rat
Acme Lab Rat Reader
4/22/16 8:53 p.m.
draco_auto_designs
draco_auto_designs New Reader
4/22/16 9:57 p.m.

Here are some pictures of its current state.

Travis_K
Travis_K UberDork
4/23/16 1:27 a.m.

How much power could be made with a 1500 from an x1/9 with a turbo? Something that mostly bolts together like it is meant to be that way might be cool instead of major surgery for a swap to something totally different.

Opti
Opti HalfDork
4/23/16 2:13 a.m.

D series honda. I think what you want is the d16y8. Look for an ex civic, sunroof is ths giveaway.

So cheap. Parts are readily available.