1 2
t25torx
t25torx New Reader
5/31/13 9:12 a.m.

Just a little back story here, I had been hunting for a 5MT hard top car for about 4 months, with a 3k price limit I was hoping to find a reasonably clean higher mileage car in stock condition.. long story short, it's amazing how hard that is to do. I finally found this car on Craigslist in Bloomington Indiana, talked to the guy, car sounded good, so I put a deposit on it and took off early from work to pick it up. Car had a little more body damage than I could see in the pictures but nothing too bad, so after a short test drive and look over for any bad rust, we exchanged currency for the title and off we went back home with my new prize.

I topped off the fluids before we left and the car ran fine on the way home, the speedometer was not working, but other than that all the gauges worked, oil pressure was fine, temp never got above 180 and this was on a 95 degree day. So all in all, I think it was a good buy.

My first plans were to strip it and set it up for CP auto-x duty, but I finally decided to just rebuild her to a daily driver so I could enjoy the fruits of my labor everyday. I haven't decided which direction I want to go with the engine yet, so that'll be one of the last things I tackle on the car.

Snapped a few shots after I got the car home. Here's the rest of them,

t25torx
t25torx New Reader
5/31/13 9:12 a.m.

So I started work on the car back in July, two years ago( I feel so unproductive now that I've typed that out.), mostly just stripped it down to get ready to clean it, this has to be the filthiest car I have ever seen, the previous owner worked at a quarry so it's filled with dust from that place, as you can see in the photos.

Also has a fair amount of rust going on, drivers and passenger floor pans and rear wheel arches both sides. This was the first rust repair I was going to have to take care of.