1 2 3 ... 18
hhaase
hhaase New Reader
1/25/16 8:26 p.m.

Hey there folks, long time reader, long time part time lurker, finally crawling out of my hole.

I've been building this one up for a few months now on an MR2 specific forum, but wanted to bring it over here as well since GRM is such a big part of the One Lap. Now that my AW11 has had a few dings, some of which I missed when I bought it on a rainy day (yeah yeah, I know, I know), I'm not worried about keeping it so original anymore. A new hood, fender, and at least two resprays that I know of kinda knock down any collector value. So I figure it's time to start knocking off a few bucket list items before I get too far into my 40's.

So why not take it on the "One Lap of America"? Only problem is that neither the car nor myself are ready for it. I also know how long projects can take, so I'm planning on running it in 2018. Current status is that I have the whole front end out for a suspension refresh and upgrade. Then I'll start taking it out autocrossing and possibly a few track days this upcoming warm season. I just started re-assembly about a week ago, still waiting on my coilovers to arrive. A buddy of mind also needs to finish blasting a few parts, before I can wrap up the front end and move on to the rear.

Figured I'd have some fun with it too, and start doing a 'build series' over on YouTube, plus a page for the project on my website. Hopefully I don't embarrass myself too much along the way.

MR2 Project Website

Toyman01
Toyman01 GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
1/25/16 8:35 p.m.

This should be fun.

The MR2 is one of the cars that makes me wish I was 6" shorter and 100 pounds lighter.

mbruneaux
mbruneaux New Reader
1/25/16 9:08 p.m.

Very cool, will be watching. Are you keeping the drivetrain stock?

The One Lap is on my bucket list with my boys, good thing they're 12 and 10 so I have time to finish my car!

crankwalk
crankwalk GRM+ Memberand Dork
1/25/16 9:20 p.m.