GrizzTheDriver
GrizzTheDriver New Reader
5/29/17 4:49 p.m.

so i bought my car a little over two years ago from my cousin for $400 and a new battery, trailer-ed it from Washington state where i used to live down here to good old Las Vegas (Henderson really but not a lot of people know where that's at). i bought the car in hope of teaching myself how to drive a manual which i have never done before, but now i do. i have never heard of the mirage so after some quick searches i realized there wasn't a lot of aftermarket support in the bolt on category. finally i came across Mirageforums.net and found a small community dedicated to these cars and had a lot of ideas and support to modify the cars to really make them stand out. And so with about a year of research and slowly gathering parts i started my first stage of upgrades. Surprisingly a lot of the upgrades and parts can be sourced from many models of other Mitsubishi. Bigger front brakes using 99 eclipse GSX front caliper are a two piston design compared to my single piston front, brembro slotted rotors fit the same lug pattern and fit up better with the bigger calipers. with that i upgraded my brake master cylinder using one out of a 3000gt 1" cylinder compared to my 3/4" stock. i have many other upgrades to post as well but when i have time i will post more.

Vigo
Vigo UltimaDork
5/29/17 10:12 p.m.

If I'd had the chance i could have given you some more common junkyard finds that those front brakes also exist on. I haven't personally looked into it but i suspect there is or was a lot of aftermarket for Mirages, just not in North America. There are a lot of interesting JDM engines that will go into them.

Post some pics when you get a chance!

GrizzTheDriver
6/10/17 1:00 a.m.