1 2 3 ... 5
jerrysarcastic (Forum Supporter)
jerrysarcastic (Forum Supporter) New Reader
4/20/20 1:08 a.m.

This is a project I’ve been working on for a few years now, slowly taking it from stock form to something that handles competently but still has an old school vibe. I do plan to autocross it at some point, but really I’m planning on something that is a solid street car first. A bit of a two way player if you will. The wagon is still a work in progress (will it ever be finished?!?) so my first few posts are going to be a bit of a review, no place to start but the beginning, right?

OK, so about 10 years ago I started to get the itch to have a classic car back in my life again. I had already had a few classic cars to this point (a ‘63 bug and ‘64 Grand Prix) but for a bunch of years in the middle I had a job with a long commute, and a string of spiritless transportation appliances for reliability and fuel cost reasons. But finally, it was time again. 

At the time the economy was still in the toilet from the housing crisis and gas prices in California were through the roof. This was when Cash for Clunkers was still a thing, so there was plenty of classic iron to be found on Craigslist for not much coin since I guess everyone had an “out with the old” mindset .  Me on the other hand, I had an open mind and a few extra dollars in my pocket, so I waited for something to come along that would have the right mix of cheap, clean, and fun.

Admittedly this is not the first thing you think of when you picture a “classic car with awesome handling” and it wasn’t what I was looking for either. That said, early Camaros and Mustangs were out of reach price-wise, and kinda overdone anyway. I knew I needed something different.