Benj
Benj New Reader
4/29/17 3:56 a.m.

Evening All

I'm in the process of stripping down a Mazda K8 1.8L V6 for a rebuild and installation in a Maita based kit car. The goal for this engine is to keep it naturally aspirated, keep it 1.8L and get some more hp out of it. I've heard a few on the web and they sound great, probably better if it's possible to get a few more than stock rpm.

I should point out I'm a bit of a Noob when it comes to engine building, having only played with the top end of a new Chev 350 for a Jet Boat previously.

There is a real lack of info around on this engine, so I would greatly appreciate any input. With my limited knowledge from digging around on a few forums, I'm thinking to get it to rev happily and semi-reliably it needs: -Upgraded Pistons and Rods -Custom Intake -Dry Sump Kit -ECU

Here are a few pics of my assistant (Sam) and the engine making it's way into smaller parts. The block had "K8 273313" and "CBB BBB HHGA" stamped on it, if that means anything to anyone.

Benj
Benj New Reader
4/29/17 4:10 a.m.

So now the questions....

Is it worth sending the block off to have the cylinder bores machined? Not to gain displacement, but to make sure they're perfect for when I put it back together? Can someone point me to an option for Pistons & Rods? I noticed that the Piston & Rod need to be put in from the top because the casting wouldn't allow them to be inserted from the bottom. Does this limit the options for rods?

wheelsmithy
wheelsmithy GRM+ Memberand Dork
4/29/17 7:58 a.m.

I'd say there are two ways forward-Whole hog, or basic refresh. Lots of grey area in between. Can you see the factory crosshatching on the cylinder walls? If so, I'd say just a simple honing would be a good bet.