Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
7/4/15 4:41 p.m.

As some may know, I've got a 1985 VW Vanagon Westfalia with a Subaru engine (previous discussion). Wonderful little thing, with everything you need for fun weekend getaways but without the size, expense and fuel economy of a big RV or trailer. I've been playing with it for the past 4 years, tweaking everything from the size of the sway bars to how the rear table mounts.

If there is demand, just ask and I'll expand this thread into "fun projects on a Westy". For now, we're going to concentrate on one thing. This is a retrospective look at a series of cascading modifications.

The fridge that Westfalia used is an absorption style. This is pretty neat in that it can run on propane, 12v or 120v. Perfect for a camper, especially if you're off-grid. But there's a limit to how much it can drop the temps. Figure a 40F drop. That's great if you're camping in 70F weather - but if it's 100F outside (and possibly even hotter in the van), that means that the inside of the fridge is 60F. Plus they can be a bit cranky at times, and their 12v power consumption is massive.

Westy owners do all sorts of things to optimize these - rotating ice packs from the top to the bottom of the fridge, constant monitoring of the internal temp, fans inside the fridge, etc. I didn't want a fridge I had to mess with.

Keith Tanner
7/4/15 4:57 p.m.

On the solar side, the previous owners of our van owned an alternative energy company. It came with a 6' long solar panel that could be plugged into a socket on the top of the van to recharge the "house" battery. There was a little controller on the back of the driver's seat that showed the state of charge with three little LEDs and would beep every time you dropped an LED. There were also some home-brewed LED interior light setups.