1 2
CGLockRacer
CGLockRacer GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
10/14/12 7:16 p.m.

So about a month ago, I pulled the trigger on a nice looking '96 Ford F-150 4x4. Had a friend check it out and he gave it a somewhat clean bill of health. Got a ride to Harrisburg, PA, picked up the truck, and drove back to Ann Arbor the same day. Then I started learning its quirks.

86654-2-large

It had a few things I didn't expect, but for the most part, I was pleased.

I installed new steering linkages, tie rods, and ball joints.

IMG_0903 IMG_0905

That was when I found out the front u-joints were shot. And then I cracked the axle yoke while trying to get them out. Found another set locally though and was able to get back on track. While doing that, found that the front shaft u-joints were also shot.

I also had to replace the front fuel tank (no pictures of that). Getting the fuel lines off (after finding the proper tool, which was a challenge in intself) was a PITA. Rear tank seems OK for now.

I rebuilt the 4x4 shift lever. It was frozen and wouldn't compress to get into 4-low. The rubber boots were torn causing grit and water to get in. I fashioned some new boots out of a bicycle innertube - GRM style (pics later hopefully). I also changed the transmission and transfer case fluid and resealed the diffs.

The truck had very little rust, which is the main reason I bought it. I knew once the deferred maintenance was done, I would have a nice, reliable truck.

This weekend's task was to get rid of the rust and prevent future rust.

Passenger side rear fender: IMG_0910
IMG_0920
IMG_0922

Driver's side rear fender: IMG_0909 IMG_0915 IMG_0917
IMG_0921 (not final bondo - it was much smoother)