1 2
Tamaren
Tamaren None
3/18/20 8:09 p.m.

Been a reader here for a while, thought a few of you might be interested- It's more of a build thread so please keep in mind that it's far from finished, but here's what I've been working on now that everyone is stuck inside.

I've spent a good amount of time in Boxster 986's, owned 3 of them, and really enjoy the platform. So I went out searching for the worst condition Boxster in the country to use as a donor. (If anyone needs some spares I have a ton by the way...) I eventually found one close to me that was perfect- a 2002 S with 200k miles, a lot of questionable things, a spray painted rear bumper, and the evap line was plugged with a 5.5mm hex driver. something that I didn't mind tearing up. It also somehow has machined Victor racing wheels, and Fabspeed headers... My purchase price was about the cost of the wheels if I had to figure correctly. It ran and drove great, and made it 100 miles back in traffic.

I'm a bored college student with a history major and never claimed to be an engineer- I usually throw things at the wall and if it doesn't break it's good to go. However, a few structural components get tested in Solidworks for structural rigidity and motion, with a 10% error on the weakest component- for the frame I'm using 4130 with ER70-2 filler, so therefore 10% error on the properties of the weld since it's the weakest. I also overbuild things because I don't want to die, at the sacrifice of weight.

I'm calculated out at 500 kg curb weight. I'm planning on using megasquirt for the fueling, and individual throttle bodies on a custom intake. Boxster brakes will be more than enough, and petals use factory brake and clutch master.