1 2
icaneat50eggs
icaneat50eggs Reader
3/21/12 8:49 p.m.

TL;DR warning.

Welcome your comments, hints, ideas, mocking, and derision. BTW my family has the over under on miles before slamming backwards into something set at 5.5.

After all the positive response I got on on my "learn me read engine car" thread, as well as requests on the other 2 boards I frequent I thought I'd start a build thread.

A little background, on how I got here. I'm a boring middle aged guy, married with 2 young boys. I'm a civil engineer, and while I can build roads bridges, water systems I'm a relative rookie (at least for this place) on cars.

About a year ago my younger brother moved back here, and we are all big car guys. I wanted a project that my dad, brother and two boys could all work on together. At the time money was very tight, so we started looking for a lemons project.

My brother provides all the technical expertise, he is a mechanic by trade, and has an incredible job. He works here

awesome job or awesomest job EVER? There isn't any luxury dealers in our town, so they do most of the bmw, mercedes, porsche etc around town, as well as lots of old muscle cars and race prep work.

Things he's done lately include putting 502's in one customers 64 chevelle, 62 pontiac biscayne and 59 impala, redoing the transmission on a dinan supercharged m5 with about 650 hp, replacing the clutch on a shelby super snake. He likes to send me texts all day of "gotta go make sure the turbos are working on the viper".

I also have a friend that is a subaru expert. He builds custom computers that go in high powered sand rails. If you guys have never ridden in one of these things, you really can't fathom how fast they are. My buddies is 1600 lbs 400 hp and can go over 2 foot high whoops at 70 mph as smooth as a cadillac.