1 2
RossD
RossD UltimaDork
11/12/15 4:30 p.m.

With inspirations abound for garage remodeling not only here but also on garage journal, I've decided to do a little build thread for the remodeling on our home. (Excuse my general lack of english skills, I'm an engineer.)

Bit of a back story, the house was built in the mid '70s, owned by my grandparents in the mid '80s until I purchased it as a young bachelor in March 2006. Now that I'm married with a son, things have got to change. One reason is so it looks like a family lives here, and the second reason is we plan on moving in about 4 years. My wife is a horse vet and she wants room for horses and there isn't any room for horses in our suburban home.

Here's the garage before much work was done to it. I had a plumber friend install a powder room in an old closet (on the other side of the wall, to the right of the white door), and decided to add a laundry sink and bit of counter top. Barely visible on the right hand side.

The back work bench was a disaster and was built by nothing but a nail clippers, hopes and dreams, and a dash of garbage. Some of my own doing, but mostly not.

I was holding off working on the garage due to not having a plan, even with constant pressure from my wife. But as life shall have it, another task became the priority. We had some water pooling in the back yard because of our mostly clay yard and our sump pump.

Well my uncle (I guess he's a general contractor ) had one of his buddies do some work on the house. The house used to have a field stone facade below the windows. This was removed leaving partially exposed CMU block at grade (I'll come back to this later). They install vinyl siding and vinyl deck.