1 2
nickt93
nickt93 New Reader
5/13/16 4:04 p.m.

I’ve been enjoying this forum for quite some time now – since 2008 according to my profile – but I realized that I mainly just lurk here. I’ve only made 10 posts over 8 years…that’s pitiful! So I figured I would right that wrong by sharing my latest project. Cuz I know you guys appreciate weird/unconventional stuff.

I’ve been tracking a 1995 Miata since 2006. I turbo’d the car with a Flyin’ Miata kit in 2008 and have had a blast driving the car at different tracks around the Southeast (Fun fact – this car was featured as the GRM “Internet Hot Rod of The Month” back in ~ June 2011). The car is really fast and a ton of fun to drive, but turbo track Miatas require a bit more care and feeding than their naturally aspirated counterparts. For the past two years I’ve been dreaming of getting back to the simplicity of before the car was turbocharged. A time when I could drive the car hard all day at the track without ever popping the hood. The Exocet was inspiring but cost more than I could justify for a second track car. The idea of a “ghettocet” seemed to be exactly what I was going for. For those not familiar with the term, it refers to a hacked up car/ Miata with all unnecessary weight removed. So I started down that path….

…and luckily I was put in contact with Alan @ Salvagewon. They have evolved the “ghettocet” concept into something way better – their Eliminator has a better design, improved aesthetics, stronger cage, and more interior room. After I laid everything out it didn’t cost much more to build the Eliminator than it would have to build a ghettocet, so it was an easy decision. We finished the car a few weeks ago; here are a few pics:

-QGE2gyJvoQk/VzMpHRHjRbI/AAAAAAAAPMU/yhDKGgsSGPA3JeQ12jWlU2eqvr7tljuwACCo/s800/IMG_3982.JPG" />

Doing what this car does best – hitting the track!

AMP Salvagewon Eliminator - Video 1