1 2 3 4
johnnytorque
johnnytorque Reader
9/21/13 6:10 p.m.

I am attempting to put an Eaton M90 blower from an old Thunderbird SuperCoupe on my 84 944 Track car. Being a TIG welder/fabricator by trade helps a great deal. I went to the shop today and fabbed up a bracket. It's still in the mock-up stage, but I am happy with the results. I will try to keep this build thread going as I believe many have tried this and failed. I hope to succeed, we'll see. here's some pics of my progress so far(I only started today)::

The blower actually has more room than it looks, so no worries about engine movement. I have picked up a set of new 944 Turbo injectors, an MSD HVC 2 coil and an AEM UEGO Wideband O2. I also will be installing a header and removing the catalytic converter. The car has already been converted to MAF using the Rogue Tuning NA-Tune and I have them burning me a new chip to help run this setup.

I only plan to run approx. 6lbs. of boost hopefully gaining about 40hp. I feel this can be a reliable setup giving me some added torque and hp which should be more fun!

Stay tuned!

banzaitoyota
banzaitoyota Reader
9/21/13 6:17 p.m.

Interesting

MadScientistMatt
MadScientistMatt UltraDork
9/22/13 7:12 a.m.

I'll be interested in seeing how this turns out.

johnnytorque
johnnytorque Reader
9/22/13 9:05 a.m.

I just spent this morning preparing to remove the N/A rad. I picked up a nearly new 944 Turbo rad and will be swapping that in figuring that I need more cooling. It is slightly larger and requires a few brackets made up, so that's my next little project. I want to do this right with regards to cooling, so along with the turbo rad I'll be doing some rad shrouding and I have a fibreglass hood I'll be installing so I'll most likely add a bunch of hood vents to aid cooling as well.

I am still trying to sort out an S/C bypass valve, anybody have any ideas how it's plumbed?

duetto_67
duetto_67 New Reader
9/22/13 9:55 a.m.