frenchyd
frenchyd UltraDork
10/18/18 6:14 a.m.

I apologize in advance for this but through racing with them, good luck, hopeless snooping, and unusual circumstances I’ve met some of the great racers of my day.  

Richard Petty,   Sterling Moss, A.J.Foyt, Dale Earnhardt, Al Unser, Bobby Rahaal, Roger Rager  etc. 

I met Richard Petty through Hopeless snooping. I was a salesman for Stewart Sandwiches, the company flew me to their headquarters to drive a freezer truck back to Minneapolis. On the way back I saw Level Cross wasn’t that far out of my way. So naturally I had to see where Richard Petty lived. A stop at a local gas station gave me directions and I parked the freezer truck on the street and went snooping.  

I didn’t know what to expect but it wasn’t that imposing. No barbed wire fence with search lites ,  growling guard dogs,  or even armed guards. 

Not many windows either darn it. Finally saw a pair and tried to peer in, face against the glass hands on either said of my face, you know the classic snoop position. 

“What are you doing” in his Southern drawl.  It might have been “ ya’all” too long ago to remember exactly but in any case I jumped back only to stare right at Richard Petty himself. 

I stammered about being a fan  and just curious.  Blathing on about vintage racing, apologizing for bothering him, etc. and after a few minutes he relaxed and invited me to join him in a glass of lemonade on the porch.  

I did! I actually sat on Richard Petty’s Porch and had a glass of lemonade. Really nice gentleman,  seemed at least as interested in me as I was about him. 

I thanked him politely ( and forgot to get his autograph ) and left with a stupid grin and joy in my heart.  What a nice person!  

The next evening I was going through  Indianapolis, it was late and I was tired.  Had to drive by the Speedway, and thought what the heck!  I’ll pull in that motel right opposite the race track, I’m on an expense account.