The Staff of Motorsport Marketing
The Staff of Motorsport Marketing Writer
2/17/20 9:12 a.m.

Story by Sarah Young • Photography by Douglas Ogden

Douglas Ogden believes that vintage cars should be photographed with vintage cameras. In his search for timeless images, he has been visiting California events with his analog gear in tow. Where most photographers have embraced the latest digital gadgets, Doug makes do with equipment that was cutting-edge decades ago—back when carburetors reigned …

Read the rest of the story

wspohn
wspohn Dork
2/17/20 10:26 a.m.

I was a film photographer both on land and under water for decades before digital came about but I would never go back again. The freedom that being able to shoot as much as you want to try and get exactly the right shot, without incurring pretty hefty processing bills is worth it alone.

dougie
dougie Reader
3/9/20 11:12 p.m.
wspohn said:

I was a film photographer both on land and under water for decades before digital came about but I would never go back again. The freedom that being able to shoot as much as you want to try and get exactly the right shot, without incurring pretty hefty processing bills is worth it alone.

Shooting with film is like living a classic car. If you enjoy that new car smell, stay with your digital......

wspohn
wspohn Dork
3/10/20 11:07 a.m.

I grant you that being able to shoot unlimited shots with zero cost often makes one a sloppy photographer that just crops digitally when a quick shot doesn't properly frame an image, but that isn't necessarily so. I still take just as much time setting up a shot and do a fair bit of work using a tripod or monopod.

And for those fast shots (cars, wildlife etc.) the image stabilization available on some new digital cameras is a definite advantage.

sir_mike
sir_mike New Reader
3/12/20 9:53 a.m.