D2W
D2W New Reader
10/23/14 3:07 p.m.

So my son bought a mustang, its a nice car with some upgrades. Ken Belle, some Steeda subframe parts, ect. Its really fast in a straight line but it handles like a pig. He can't afford to do everything at once so what is a good path for suspension upgrades?

GCooper
GCooper Reader
10/23/14 5:25 p.m.

I have no experience with it, but I hear good things about Maximum Motorsports and their kits

BlueInGreen44
BlueInGreen44 Reader
10/23/14 5:27 p.m.

There's a good tech tip article in the May 2014 GRM about modifying that generation of Mustangs. I just re-read that one last night.

Will
Will SuperDork
10/23/14 6:13 p.m.

I'd call Sam Strano.

http://www.stranoparts.com/

RexSeven
RexSeven UberDork
10/23/14 6:58 p.m.

Maximum Motorsports make good stuff (I have their caster/camber plates on my 2013 V-6). Whiteline, Steeda, and BMR also make good parts like control arms.

One thing to remember is that if you lower the Mustang, you will need to get an adjustable Panhard bar or Watt's link to re-center the rear axle. Forum member SkyRender has a whole series on MotoIQ about how he modified his 2012 GT.

http://www.motoiq.com/Projects/Ford/Mustang50(Grey).aspx

Mr_Clutch42
Mr_Clutch42 Dork
10/23/14 10:23 p.m.

The easiest way is to trade it in for a NB Miata. I would say that the first thing to do is to put Koni Yellow or Bilstein sport shocks.

ddavidv
ddavidv PowerDork
10/24/14 6:38 a.m.

Here's a thread I started almost a year ago on the S197 forum when I began shopping for one. Most of the respondents are guys who actually track their cars and don't just spout off internet myths. S197 forum-making a Mustang handle like a BMW Couple it with the GRM suggestions and you should be set. Strano's sway bars are considered the best out there.

Mad_Ratel
Mad_Ratel Reader
10/24/14 7:05 a.m.