1 2
DirtyBird222
DirtyBird222 UltraDork
6/24/16 9:45 p.m.

About to bite the bullet on a 2010 Fit Sport manual (so hard to find). I've had one of these before but only had it for a few months and it was auto. Anyone of you guys own one long term? Anything to note? I rarely worked on them when I was a Honda tech so not totally familiar with them.

On the plus side - the one I test drove was a blast. Much better than the auto I owned, I forgot how much fun the VTEC noise is even out of a single cam. I enjoy engine noises and my '16 WRX doesn't provide many of those :(. Brakes, clutch, WOT seemed normal.

Down side - body and interior need some serious TLC but it's a one owner car with a tad few miles over 100k and can be had for less than $5k. Which I won't mind since it's going to be mainly used as a workhorse/daily beater.

Seem like a good deal?

pointofdeparture
pointofdeparture GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
6/24/16 9:51 p.m.

Sounds like a great deal. I've had a 2013 manual for about 25k miles now and love it. I've heard from many 100k+ owners that as long as you stay on top of the 50k valve adjustments, you'll never need more than brakes/fluids/filters. And even then half the owners don't bother with the valves and do just fine.

They do have Takata airbags but, what are you gonna do, 75% of vehicles made in the last decade seem to have them...

Woody
Woody GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
6/24/16 9:57 p.m.

I haven't seen one that cheap yet.

noddaz
noddaz GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
6/25/16 6:26 a.m.

So what are the clues to weed out the Sport model out from the rest of the cars? (Just wondering...)

petegossett
petegossett GRM+ Memberand UltimaDork
6/25/16 6:55 a.m.

We've had ours over 7-years/175,000 miles. I think we're on our 6th set of tires, I've done the brakes once, all-4 shocks/struts once, the front struts/mounts only (because the mounts were shot), serpentine belt a couple times, had the valves adjusted once...that's everything I can think of.