TAftonomos
TAftonomos Reader
9/19/14 8:18 p.m.

Still looking....

Latest thing I came across is a 94 850 turbo. Silver, paint is decent, no real body issues/rust/etc. Tires are 50%. Cold AC. Black leather no rips. Everything works, motor feels like it makes power.

$1500. Something seriously up with this thing or is that just what they sell for? With 121K miles on the clock it seems like there is tons of life left, and for a daily commuter car it doesn't seem terrible. Wish it was a wagon but the CL car factory is all out of them at the moment (Central FL area) There are a few V70's nearby for a little more money....and I'm no volvo expert...but I've heard they arn't as solid as the older cars were.

Thoughts?

mad_machine
mad_machine GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
9/19/14 8:34 p.m.

850s do not go for much money at all.. odd when you consider many consider them the last "true Volvo"

Streetwiseguy
Streetwiseguy UberDork
9/19/14 8:51 p.m.

$1500 is probably pretty close to what it will sell for, but its less than what its worth, if you catch my drift. The early cars had a couple of odd things about them, and a couple of weaker areas, but the weak stuff has probably broken and been changed by now. If its old enough to have 4 bolt wheels, that makes brakes and ball joints and such a bit tougher to find. The permanent solution to that is as near as your local pick'n'pull.

mrwillie
mrwillie Dork
9/19/14 9:58 p.m.

That price is about right. I paid $1100 for ny NA 850 wagon. I even saw a running, well-maintained one for $700.

http://www.matthewsvolvosite.com/, volvospeed and of course GRM are the go-to sites. Turbobricks is good as well, but mainly focus on rwd models. IPDusa and FCPeuro are my two goto places for parts. They are very diy-able vehicles, have great seats, and feel capable enough considering they are heavy, fwd chassis. Make sure that the timing belt and pcv system has been done, or plan on doing them yourself soon.