TreoWayne
TreoWayne New Reader
2/24/09 8:00 a.m.

I have no experience with Ford trucks other than driving my boss's PowerStroke around.

My uncle recently bought a 1996 F-150 302 4x4 with a manual trans. It doesn't get around well. The master cylinder is not leaking so he thinks the slave cylinder is bad.

I am confused about which trucks have internal slave cylinder and which ones have external slave cylinder.

It seems that there are two different kinds of manual transmissions on these trucks and different transmissions have different slave cylinder locations.

I am trying to help him get this figured out over the phone before I start thinking about a long car ride to fix it if the slave is external or drive home after getting nothing done if the slave cylinder is internal.

So how can I help someone who only knows how to drive cars figure out if this is a driveway project or something that will require a tow to a shop.

Low cost is a very important priority here btw.

iceracer
iceracer Reader
2/24/09 9:12 a.m.

"It doesn't get around well" doesn't say much.

knb13
knb13 New Reader
2/24/09 3:10 p.m.

we did one at the shop a few months ago... the one we did was internal and had to pull the tranny IIRC... it would kinda be a pain in a driveway but overall it wasn't too bad.... if your comfy with pulling a RWD tranny (which is much easier than a FWD) then I say try it.

dan_efi
dan_efi New Reader
2/24/09 8:27 p.m.

It will have the internal slave. Just to confirm, ask him to crawl under and look at the ribs on the side of the tranny. If they are horizontal and vertical, it's an M5OD-R2 (Mazda with internal slave). If for some unknown reason the ribs are diagonal, then it's a ZF which should have an external slave. I don't believe the ZF was available in F-150 in 1996.