MattGent
MattGent Reader
11/13/17 11:15 p.m.

I've got a 99 Miata sport package that has become a track-day beater.  It has ~155k miles, about 30 track days, and it's getting tired.  Oil consumption is getting out of hand, so I expect the engine is about done.

Engine itself is stock.  Car has a Raceland header and MBS exhaust, plus a Flyin' Miata suspension.  I've recently replaced the transmission after a seal failure led to lunching that, and did a clutch at the same time.  Rest of the car is rather worn out. I'd like to keep it around to just run track days with my dad, about 5-7/year.  Of course a little more power would be nice but the main thing I need is a cheap, reliable option to get back in the action.

I'd consider rebuilding the current motor as I've never done one before, but the reality is I'm already buried with projects and don't see that getting done.  So if I'm looking for a junkyard replacement, any particular year or features I should look for?  Combination of parts to put together from my engine or others?  Sources on where to find any of it?

Thanks

Matt

DeadSkunk
DeadSkunk UberDork
11/14/17 7:32 a.m.

I'd rebuild  the current motor. I'll bet a quick honing, rings, bearings and seals would put it good as new. They're tough little engines.

frenchyd
frenchyd HalfDork
11/14/17 7:57 a.m.

In reply to MattGent :

Why not read the articles here about engines choices/ applications?  That seems to be the most popular car. 

Myself I'd figure out a cheap way to get a blower/ turbo on it.  Wait!  They just did last month!!  Read about the magazines yellow Miata. 

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
11/14/17 7:57 a.m.

+1 for rebuilding the current engine. Leave the car with an independent mechanic to do it, it'll still give you more years of service per dollar than any other option.

Dusterbd13
Dusterbd13 MegaDork
11/14/17 8:08 a.m.