1 2
Bearcat
Bearcat
8/30/14 2:03 a.m.

Hey guys newbie here, well I know how much you guys love these choose-a-car-for-me topics, however I do need some genuine feedback. My current daily driver is a 2000 jaguar xj8, it's really been a great car but it's time to move on, I'm thinking something a little sportier. Well over the last couple weeks I've come up with a list of viable cars these are the: c4 corvette (1992-96) Mitsubishi 3000gt vr4, Porsche 944 (1985.5-on), and a Nissan 300zx. I have no intentions of modding/racing these cars, these would be just for my daily 20 mile commute and for taking a trip to the mountains to enjoy the roads. Also having grown up on a farm I like working on things so extra maintanence doesn't bother me. So what do you guys think? Some extra questions: Honestly I really love the Mitsubishi but the maintenance does worry me a good bit. Anyone with personal experience on them? I also know that it is the heaviest out of the four by a pretty good margin but how do they handle? are they good on corners? OK the corvette, I hear al lot of people swear by the c4 as an underestimated in a straight line car but again what about in the corners? How would the corvette handle the twisties? Thanks

Vigo
Vigo PowerDork
8/30/14 2:51 a.m.

The 3000GT VR4 is VERY maintenance intensive COMPARED to normal cars. The consensus is that they need a new oil pump, rod and main bearings every 60-100k as preventative maintenance, which also involves the obligatory timing belt, which is itself not an easy one with 8 pulleys involved.

If you get a VR4 with no pre-existing engine damage and then take it half way apart to replace t belt, oil pump, and bottom end bearings, it will basically be a 'normal' car for the next 60-100k after that, other than the fact of being twin turbo and awd and having a bunch of parts that normal cars just dont have.