1 2
steronz
steronz Reader
5/23/18 9:28 a.m.

I'm in the fortunate position of being able to build a brand new garage (sometime within the next year), and the unfortunate position of having to pay for it with my own money.  I've read the debates here over the years about what type of lifts are preferred, and I'm thinking about something like this:

I guess my question is, for people have have a recessed lift, is it worth the money?  I'm not a mechanic, I do maybe 1 major project a year and the rest of the time it's just basic maintenance.  If I don't do it now I'll probably just stick with jacks and ramps, which might be fine for my purposes.

MrChaos
MrChaos GRM+ Memberand Dork
5/23/18 9:31 a.m.

2 post lift's can be had for sub $3k

BoxheadTim
BoxheadTim GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
5/23/18 9:33 a.m.

If you have the space for a two post, I'd go two post for a pure work lift. Four post for a storage lift that can help with work a bit.

SVreX
SVreX MegaDork
5/23/18 9:52 a.m.

I have a 2 post, but may not have space for it in my new garage. I'm interested in the pros/ cons of those lifts in the original post. 

Thoughts?

The0retical
The0retical UltraDork
5/23/18 10:04 a.m.

I looked into putting in a recessed scissor lift like so:

Here's the Garage Journal thread I lifted the image from and here's the lift shown.

Bottom line: It's nearly double the price of a four post lift to start then you have to add in the concrete work. If I were building from scratch it's something I would consider but it's spendy to retrofit one.

The low/mid rise lift has a more palatable starting price but it was harder to recess them because most were tied together in some way which leaves a huge recess in between them making it hard to get a creeper or chair under them for exhaust or suspension work. The one you linked looks like it wouldn't have that issue. Any more info on it?