1 2
ebonyandivory
ebonyandivory UberDork
12/9/17 7:12 a.m.

The more realistic I get, the more these seem to be what I need. Any major issues or are these worthy of the Honda reputation?

Whats the likelihood of getting one in a manual? I can’t take the thought of these with an auto.

Edit: I’d certainly entertain the 6th Gen Accord if there’s reason to. 

Erich
Erich UltraDork
12/9/17 7:40 a.m.

I have been using one as a daily for a few months - a 2006 V6 Manual Sedan. My commute involves long stretches of straight flat interstate, and the Accord is fantastic for that. The V6/Manual Sedan combo is quite rare, I've only ever seen two for sale locally in the years I've had alerts set up - they were made in 2006 and 2007 only. I've seen a few 4 cylinder manual trans sedans, and a handful of the V6 manual coupes. 

Handling: Nothing special, severe understeer on stock suspension as you near the limit. It does ride extremely comfortably over the rough Detroit roads however. 

Interior: Well put-together, no rattles or squeaks on mine after 120k miles. Seats are comfortable and supportive for a Honda, and the driving position and visibility is good for a modern car. It's also very quiet compared to what I'm used to. 

Engine: The V6 is incredible, it just pulls and pulls. I get about 26-27 mpg doing mostly 75+ mph on the freeway, and I can't keep my foot off the gas. I've heard the 4 cylinder is passable though, and gets in the 30s. The gas tank is 16 gallons so I get about 400 miles to the tank, which is nice. The combination of being able to do both a quarter mile in the low 14s and running 27 mpg on 87 octane is tough to beat.

Issues: The third gear is a little difficult, though I'm definitely in need of a trans fluid change. The timing belt change is a little bit of a pain. No other issues I'm aware of. 

Overall I'd say it's not a canyon carver, but a fantastic grand tourer. 

Not sure where you're located, but here's a coupe and a high miles V6/MT sedan

noddaz