1 2 3
BoxheadTim
BoxheadTim GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
8/5/17 6:06 p.m.

Looks like I need to pull at least one of the heads (most likely both) on the Formula FST - I've got a busted spark plug thread on one of the heads and the other one has a spark plug hole that's not far behind. Yeah, race ready car...

Anyway, I'm not that experienced with VW aircooled motors (yet, I suspect) but I'm assuming I can just pull the heads, check the jugs for scoring just in case but leave them in place, get the spark plug threads helicoiled and then slap them back on with new seals on the pushrod tubes?

I hope that's all that's required to get the motor race ready again - well, that and new seals at the bottom of the oil cooler/oil filter pedestal - but I'm not holding my breath given my usual skill at buying cars.

iceracer
iceracer UltimaDork
8/5/17 6:14 p.m.

That is about it. Don't over torque. I forget the spec. and I lost my handy pocket spec book.

Dusterbd13
Dusterbd13 UltimaDork
8/5/17 7:35 p.m.

Weren't there cheap good heads for the aircooled bot long ago? Its been a while, but im thinking dual port or something along those lines.

For the fst: are you allowed to hot rod it?

Iusedtobefast
Iusedtobefast Reader
8/5/17 7:41 p.m.

Just be careful you don't crunch a pushrods tube when tightening the heads. If I remember right, they liked to fall out when the engine was still in the car. We used to put the push rods in to hold them but it helped to have an extra set of hands to keep from fall out. It's been 25 years but I think they used to make clips that would hold them in place. Still sucked when you were in a rush and you would crunch an end.

BoxheadTim
8/6/17 9:23 a.m.
Dusterbd13 wrote: Weren't there cheap good heads for the aircooled bot long ago? Its been a while, but im thinking dual port or something along those lines. For the fst: are you allowed to hot rod it?