1990NA
1990NA
12/8/20 2:30 p.m.

So I am new to autocross. I looking to enter my first even next year. But over the winter I am wanting to prepare my car to race. As of now it's just on coilovers. I'm looking to get a set of wheels but I have read where certain classes o my allow certain size wheels. Can someone point me in the right direction on what could be the limits for like street touring?

Mr_Asa
Mr_Asa GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
12/8/20 2:34 p.m.

Are you going to be doing SCCA autocrossing?  Some other org?

fanfoy
fanfoy SuperDork
12/8/20 2:37 p.m.

Check out this link on miata.net

It's a little old, but most of the info is still valid. 

And I'll be the first to tell you to invest on seat time before mods.

Gimp (Forum Supporter)
Gimp (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
12/8/20 2:39 p.m.

Yup.  Make sure your car, with whatever is on it now, is safe.  Then go out and run.

If you buy good wheels and tires now, you'll just end up wasting them.  Use the money on a school instead.

David S. Wallens
David S. Wallens Editorial Director
12/8/20 3:25 p.m.
David S. Wallens
12/8/20 3:28 p.m.

I'd work on the driver before the car, but you can find the SCCA rules here

David S. Wallens
12/8/20 3:30 p.m.

And any questions, definitely ask away. Lots of good info in our Articles section, too. 

docwyte
docwyte UberDork
12/8/20 4:17 p.m.

Just drive.  Don't spend any more money on mods.  Drive the car a bunch, then decide, what, if any mods you want to do.

Dusterbd13-michael (Forum Supporter)
Dusterbd13-michael (Forum Supporter) MegaDork
12/8/20 4:50 p.m.

Yup. Dont be like the guy that built the green miata that is the lead picture for the video. He built a car that is way more car than driver, and its frustrating to know that the car can do way more than the driver.