NOHOME
NOHOME PowerDork
3/20/17 1:22 p.m.

While watching the latest Project Binky video, it caught the mention that the brake lines being used were quite flexible. They did not look quite right either. Not NiCop either.

Anyone know what was being used? It there an acceptable plastic line for running brake lines?

Strizzo
Strizzo UberDork
3/20/17 1:26 p.m.

I think it was a coated steel line of some sort.

The0retical
The0retical Dork
3/20/17 1:31 p.m.
Strizzo wrote: I think it was a coated steel line of some sort.

It sort of looked like AGS Poly Armour brake line but I'm far from an expert and it's not really flexible per say. I went looking too after I saw that.

Like so.

That might be the way I go for the RX-3's brake system.

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
3/20/17 1:32 p.m.

Something like this - second one down?

http://www.bmrs.net/PTFE_sb_hose_01.html

Personally, I prefer as much hard line as possible for minimum expansion under pressure, but building it all out of flex does make life a lot easier.

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
3/20/17 1:55 p.m.

I remember the guys at Exomotive found that there was no noticeable difference between a car that had traditional hard lines and one that had all SS braided lines.

dculberson
dculberson PowerDork
3/20/17 1:56 p.m.

The Poly-Armor stuff is easy to work with. I ran fuel and brake lines using it on my old Chevy pickup, which had rusted through its second set of lines in 20 years.

Ian F
Ian F MegaDork
3/20/17 2:39 p.m.

Which lines are you asking about?

I'm pretty sure the lines run under the car are the coated steel hard lines The0retical linked.

The rats nest of hoses between the master cylinders and the reservoirs look like what Keith linked.

EvanB
EvanB GRM+ Memberand UltimaDork
3/20/17 2:47 p.m.

The fuel lines were aluminum hard lines. The brake lines were all coated stainless braid teflon hose like Keith linked.

Keith Tanner
3/20/17 3:01 p.m.