1 2
ekauppi7
ekauppi7 New Reader
4/15/19 7:00 p.m.

The girlfriend is lusting after a convertible.  She's never owned one.  We'd share the car.  Manual trans and fun to drive are the priorities.  I spent some time looking at old Fiat 124's, I owned many back in the day.  Or a TR8, mm..  But then I started thinking modern and reliable would be good.  I have a Lotus Europa which needs a lot of work of course, I don't need another project.

Miata is the obvious answer, cheap and cheerful...   But they're not that cheap.  And it looks like I could get an '05 or earlier Boxster for $5-7k or so, since I'm not in a hurry.  I'm thinking find one with 50-120k miles and the IMS time bomb ticking, do the IMS and rear seal and clutch, and have a nice ride for not too much money.  

Am I crazy?  "There's no such thing as an inexpensive Porsche"?  And how are they to work on?  I'm a good mechanic and I have access to a lift, but I haven't worked on Porsches since the 914 days.

What do you think?

Who has driven both Boxster and Miata and can comment on the fun to drive question?

Floating Doc
Floating Doc GRM+ Memberand Dork
4/15/19 7:22 p.m.

I've never even sat in a Porsche, so my input is worth every penny you're paying for it. However, there's a reason that...

Miata

I

Always 

The 

Answer

There, now that that's out of the way, no one has to do it. Now you can get some actual useful comments. Good luck!

Tyler H
Tyler H GRM+ Memberand UberDork
4/15/19 7:26 p.m.

$5-7k for a Boxster is about what it will cost to get one into top condition.  I'd shoot for a nicer P-car.  If you're a good mechanic, all cars are pretty much screwed together by human hands and robots, and thus fixable.  The Boxster is a nicer car to drive; more comfortable, more torque, more fast.