Bench Racer (BowtieBandit)
Bench Racer (BowtieBandit) Reader
3/15/11 5:31 p.m.

I'm wanting to build a Vortec headed 350 to place into the Camaro. Basicly a mid ninties truck motor, with a roller cam and one piece rear main. I've got a line on one, actually three, four bolt main roller cam blocks, $150 a piece. I want a choppy idle, and really like the Comp Cams Thumpr, but according to their website, it is designed with flat-tappet motors in mind, and has an eccentric cam lobe for a mechanical fuel pump. My question is that , I know the block is the same, but if I were to run some sortof EFI, like a factory TBI or whathaveyou, will the eccentric lobe interfere with anything? Since money is always an issue, I may wind up carbing the thing anyway, although electric pumps are always an option too.

This same seller has a new "take out" cam, from a new engine, that specs out to 208/221 and .474/.510. I'm still learning all these numbers, but that's a pretty big cam. Comes with no lifters and the price is $125, has a identical cam slightly used at $100. Now, as much as I would like to buy a cam/lifter set, I just can't afford to dish out $500+ for one, although I know I would be pleased with the results. The fact is, I'm in the real world, and we're doing things the GRM way. Would stock lifters be okay with that big of a cam? I know I'll have to run different springs, as the stock Vortecs have a bigger perch and require machining to accept a traditional style spring. I was wanting to run some sortof beehive spring, something that will survive a decent-sized cam.

As much as I love LS engines, and the fact that you can get a 5.3 LS for cheap, and make similar if not more power, this engine I'm bench-building will drop right inplace of my tired 305, and all my accesories will go right back in place as well. If I were to LS swap, I'm sure I would have to change my assecories, mounts, and all sorts of stuff. In the long run, the ol' mouse is still cheaper.