GTwannaB
GTwannaB GRM+ Memberand New Reader
6/21/10 3:04 p.m.

I just bought a nice SVT Focus with perfect unscratched bumpers. Unfortunately I live in San Francisco which means the bumper scratches are inevitable. I would like to keep the damage to a minimum so I was thinking about clear bumber guards/transparent bra. Anyone ever installed one of thes kits themselves? Any experience with installers? I am not concerned about the headlights covers or hood covers, just for the bumper. I know 3M makes a product for this application. Too many asshats in this town to expect my bumpers to stay nice for too long.

integraguy
integraguy HalfDork
6/21/10 3:31 p.m.

No DIRECT experience installing or "living" with these clear bumper guards. However, my "little" sister discovered her latest new to her car has this and it does a very good job of holding paint damage to a minimum.

Bababooey
Bababooey New Reader
6/21/10 3:57 p.m.

In reply to GTwannaB:

I do these for a living.....and drive an SVT Focus. The most important thing you need to consider is film is irrelevant if the installer is bad....and most are average at best. I just corrected a E350 coupe that was done by a tint shop in Rochester. They tried 3 times and each resulted in a horrible install. When I removed the film they had trashed the paint from so many removals and even left cut marks. Not only was the install bad, their "3M" film was actually Venture. When you've done this for 6 years, you can tell the film by the look and even smell.

Here's the deal on an SVT Focus kit though, the pattern was made when nobody thought they'd want complete bumper coverage. It only does the very front. (Check patterns at www.xpel.com) You can do the entire bumper, but it requires a bulk install, which is pricey and only a handful of people can do with out cutting your bumper. I believe there are two hood options, one large and one small.