ebonyandivory
ebonyandivory SuperDork
4/17/15 8:35 p.m.

I'm very confident in my driving ability.

So, with four good-quality snows, y'all think I could've gotten I work and back this winter (every storm affected my commute, I couldn't get a break!)

Kenny_McCormic
Kenny_McCormic PowerDork
4/17/15 9:05 p.m.

Snow tires will make a 2WD (on either end) anything at least good enough for snow up to the pinch welds. The General Altimax Artic is a good cheap one, it's an older Gislaved design (Swedish Nokian competitor) with a different sidewall mold.

Tactical Penguin
Tactical Penguin Dork
4/17/15 9:07 p.m.

More than likely. You'll also have two tons of fun doing it.

ebonyandivory
ebonyandivory SuperDork
4/17/15 9:15 p.m.

That's what I'm thinking!

I'm a nurse employed by the state and I wondered how this winter would've been (mandatory employee) seeing that I drive a 4x4 truck.

I'm a believer in the magic of snow tires but have only been amazed at the abilities of a Protege5 (albeit in much calmer winter two years ago).

The internet says Panthers suck in snow but that's mostly on summer tires from what I can tell.

Anecdotal stories from a professional driver says Panthers are TANKS in the snow and he's even plowed through snow banks when needed.

WonkoTheSane
WonkoTheSane GRM+ Memberand Reader
4/17/15 10:01 p.m.

I don't think the police forces magically swapped out to something else when it snowed..

Tactical Penguin
Tactical Penguin Dork
4/17/15 10:15 p.m.

Our local cops do. When it snows you'll see a mish-mash of old CUCV's, Durangos, and a couple new Utility Interceptors, and the Crown Vics and Chargers get parked.

But folks here think they NEED 4x4's to get around in the snow.

My P71 was great with snows and pretty easy to hoon with the longish wheelbase.

ProDarwin
ProDarwin UberDork
4/17/15 10:20 p.m.
WonkoTheSane wrote: I don't think the police forces magically swapped out to something else when it snowed..