DWNSHFT
DWNSHFT Reader
4/14/10 2:39 p.m.

Car is a 2001 Saturn SL1, 1.9 liter with automatic, about 92,000 miles. It's not throwing any CEL, but it has an intermittent high idle, between 1900 and 2400 RPM (in neutral). With the throttle closed, my scanner shows Throttle Position Sender wanders anywhere from 0.0% to 9.6%. I pulled the throttle body, cleaned it, cleaned (what I think is) the Idle Air Control Motor, and ensured no sticky throttle. Buttoned it back together and now it's worse, with idle as high as 3100 RPM, but sometimes returning to normal idle. But the intermittent high idle occurs more often now. I also wiggled the TPS and IAC motor connectors, and unplugged them, with no change.

Being frustrated and just as ignorant as before, I started playing with the air intake. With the throttle closed, I plugged the IAC air passage and the car still ran, with a high idle but not as high as before. In my ignorant ways it seems the car should stall when I do that. So I put my palm over the entire throttle intake, and while it makes a ton of vacuum and the idle drops way down, the engine still doesn't stall. So it seems that I have an air leak somewhere. Yes? No? Maybe?

While doing these very scientific tests I pulled the PCV hose and plugged it, so there was no intake air coming from that.

When re-installing the throttle body I used a new gasket (as the old one munched itself somehow). What other possible locations should I check for a leak? Manifold-to-block gasket of course, and there's something on the other end of the intake plenum, maybe the intake temp sensor, might leak there? What else should I check? Anyone have luck listening for an intake leak with a stethoscope (length of rubber tube)? I don't have any carb cleaner at home, any other GRM alternatives to carb cleaner as a spray-on leak detector? I'll buy some if that's what I need.

Any other advice? This whole modern EFI diagnostics thing is hard when I'm teaching myself from scratch.