MrBenjamonkey
MrBenjamonkey HalfDork
6/30/11 2:35 a.m.

I'm talking to a suspension guru and I'm trying to figure out if he's for real. He watched this video and said it looks to him like I have "heavy understeer." It didn't feel that way to me, and I honestly thought the car was slightly too loose.

However, I'm not that experienced racing FWD cars, so maybe my idea of loose is a lot more conservative than the fastest setups.

Here's the video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sS8Vvx3fhPs

Here's the much longer in car video if you want to watch it as well.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rCtTXO8dbQk

Anyway, just judging on the videos and ignoring my impressions, does this look like an excessively understeering car?

bravenrace
bravenrace SuperDork
6/30/11 5:59 a.m.

I only watched the first video, but from that it's kind of hard to tell. If I had to make a judgement, it does look a little like it's underteering, but in part because there doesn't seem to be any evidence of oversteer.
I thought I heard your tires squealing. If so, was it the fronts or the rears? I think that as long as you are confident in your understanding of over-understeer, then you are the best judge of that. Did the front tires go where you steered them? If so, then you weren't understeering. Same goes for the rear. In any case, it didn't look to me like you had "heavy" doses of either.

DILYSI Dave
DILYSI Dave SuperDork
6/30/11 8:12 a.m.

Sure sounds like understeer.

Bobzilla
Bobzilla Dork
6/30/11 8:31 a.m.

i loved the longer vid... I really want that first Gen Accent (Excel) early in the line up.

And yes... you are understeering. Needs more rear bar.

miatame
miatame HalfDork
6/30/11 9:26 a.m.

It is sort of hard to mistake. Did the car go where you pointed it or did it push to the outside of the corner?

DWNSHFT
DWNSHFT Reader
6/30/11 12:53 p.m.