pimpm3
pimpm3 Reader
11/20/13 6:04 p.m.

As many of you know I am a Police Officer. Yesterday I was dispatched to a single car crash on the interstate. I arrived on scene and discovered that the drunk guy driving an early 2000's Dodge Durango thought it would be a sweet idea to split traffic by driving between two semi trucks. Needless to say he lost control and flipped over into the median. When I arrived about 5 minutes after the crash occured I found this Durango upside down halfway off the road. Several bystanders were milling about and they informed me that the drunk guy was trapped inside the vehicle. I ran up to the car and realized that it is still running even though it was completely upside down! ! There was some gas leaking out of the tank filler so I felt that it would be a good idea to turn off the truck. I crawled inside, told the dude rescue was on the way and turned the car off via the key.

How is it possible that this truck continued to run for several minutes despite being completly upside down? I figured the fuel pick up is in the wrong place and all oif the oil would run away from the oil sump and pool in the heads.

Learn me running an engine inverted....

I guess the moral of the story is don't drive drunk and if you want to drive upside down buy a Durango.

Spoolpigeon
Spoolpigeon SuperDork
11/20/13 6:07 p.m.

If it had a full tank, I could see the fuel still getting there, but what about the oil? It had to have run dry after it was upside down for a moment or two. Was the engine making any racket?

pimpm3
pimpm3 Reader
11/20/13 6:10 p.m.

Nope sounded normal and was running smoothly.

Mmadness
Mmadness Reader
11/20/13 6:12 p.m.

Most new cars shut off automatically in a crash, this is weird.

Maroon92
Maroon92 MegaDork
11/20/13 6:13 p.m.

Dodge 318 derived V8? That should run without oil for a good 20 minutes.

nicksta43
nicksta43 SuperDork
11/20/13 6:16 p.m.