SPG123
SPG123 Reader
10/23/14 5:26 a.m.

I am shopping for rotors and ceramic pads for the 88 Saab 900 SPG. Ebay has them from a company called Power Stop for $125. I can afford this. so there must be some reason they are so inexpensive. Any experience with these?

foxtrapper
foxtrapper UltimaDork
10/23/14 5:50 a.m.

No dog in this fight. Power Stop seems to be a real company, with a reasonably professional looking web page. Reviews on other forums regarding their products are all pretty good. Looks to me like you've nothing to inherently worry about.

Knurled
Knurled GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
10/23/14 6:05 a.m.

I have had no good experiences with ceramic pads. Every time i would try them out, I would get zero braking when the pads were cold and/or wet. I got used to dragging the brakes for a while before actually needing them to slow the car down.

This being $60-80 parts store ceramic pads, not expensive ones.

wbjones
wbjones UltimaDork
10/23/14 6:39 a.m.

I'm another that hasn't enjoyed any worthwhile level of success when using ceramic pads … YMMV

44Dwarf
44Dwarf UltraDork
10/23/14 6:53 a.m.

I used a complete brake job in a box (4 rotors with pads) from rock auto that was all powerstop. Hands down the best brakes I ever had on my cobalt SS. I thought the factory brakes were great then I put on the power stops WOW. Note: I replaced still good pads cause the rotors had rusted from sitting and I had long trip to do.

PubBurgers
PubBurgers SuperDork
10/23/14 7:18 a.m.
SPG123 wrote: I am shopping for rotors and ceramic pads for the 88 Saab 900 SPG. Ebay has them from a company called Power Stop for $125. I can afford this. so there must be some reason they are so inexpensive. Any experience with these?

Parts stores have an insane markup on most parts. When I worked for advance pads had a cost of $4 or so but we sold them for $20-$40. At most you have 2 or 3 competitors in a town so prices generally stay high.