1 2 3 ... 5
M030
M030 HalfDork
8/12/12 7:40 p.m.

I met someone at a VW show today who told me about how popular it is for people to swap Audi 4.2 V8s into early Boxsters. He says it's easier than an LS or Subaru swap and fits better, too.

I did a quick internet search and came up with nothing. Is this just one of those myths or has anybody actually heard of this swap? Maybe somebody with better interwebby skillz can find out more?

Ojala
Ojala GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
8/12/12 7:50 p.m.

I know of only two swaps, yes it bolts in, but the can bus is a huge problem

mad_machine
mad_machine GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
8/12/12 8:51 p.m.

that almost sounds like an insurmountable problem... I know Audi is related to Porche.. but it is really worth using that engine?

SlickDizzy
SlickDizzy GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
8/12/12 8:57 p.m.

I have no Boxster experience, but I know a bunch of VW guys, and asked one of my buddies who works on Porsches about it.

My buddy Dave said: Yeah, it should bolt up surprisingly well, and would definitely be a better fit than an LS - but would you want to wire that up? VAG electronics are pretty complex and hard to diagnose for a trained mechanic, and a 4.2 is not exactly a 2.0 ABA. It may have been done, and it may "bolt up," but the real challenge starts there.
Jaynen
Jaynen Reader
8/12/12 8:59 p.m.

Sounds like the "how popular" is internet myth and sounds like a huge PITA

Ojala
Ojala GRM+ Memberand Reader
8/12/12 9:02 p.m.

That's the thing, I can make any engine work, but it will be a track toy that won't pass an OBD II inspection in Texas. Why bother? A boxster is good but it's not like a boxster is that earth shatteringly awesome.

HappyAndy
HappyAndy UberDork
8/12/12 9:37 p.m.

What kind of a masochist would want to combine Boxter with Audi V8, and add can bus engine managment on top of it? I can think of a lot better ways to give myself a headache.

BradLTL
BradLTL GRM+ Memberand Dork
8/12/12 9:51 p.m.