David S. Wallens
David S. Wallens Editorial Director
7/20/17 10:56 a.m.

This dyno day coverage comes from all the way back in 1997, so we had to march back to our archives, pick out the magazine, and dig out the scanner.

To zoom in, hold down the CTRL (or Command on a Mac) key and then hit the “+” key.

Want to read about the coolest cars in amateur motorsports? Get …

This content is available for GRM+ members and Grassroots Motorsports magazine subscribers only.

You can read it for free in 42 days or subscribe to GRM+ to read right now.

Subscribe now

Already a member?

Login to read

Read the rest of the story

Ed Higginbotham
Ed Higginbotham Associate Editor
7/20/17 11:54 a.m.

This photo cracks me up for some reason. Like JG is obviously waiting for a victim to sit in that chair for... something.

Woody
Woody GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
7/20/17 12:04 p.m.

That CRX appeared in Car & Driver right around the time that I got my first subscription. I wonder if it still exists?

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
7/20/17 12:43 p.m.

Super Synchronicity. It does. I believe it's still in FL, so perhaps Joe still owns it. I'm tempted to look him up, I've still got the original issue with that car in it.

http://blog.caranddriver.com/cd-project-cars-past-we-track-down-the-twin-engined-crx-newmans-own-turbo-and-our-72-pinto-race-car/

fidelity101
fidelity101 SuperDork
7/20/17 2:11 p.m.

(RX7) cutting the airbox was really 10hp gain? speed holes! and the turbo car is only 17hp more? wow

kb58
kb58 Dork
7/20/17 8:37 p.m.

Amazing how horsepower levels are so much higher now, even when comparing these modified cars to stock cars of today.

David S. Wallens
7/20/17 9:12 p.m.
Ed Higginbotham wrote: This photo cracks me up for some reason. Like JG is obviously waiting for a victim to sit in that chair for... something.

That's back when we had GRM logo folding chairs.

MrJoshua
MrJoshua UltimaDork
7/20/17 10:43 p.m.