1 2
remfb
remfb
1/14/20 11:12 a.m.

Apologies if this is off-topic. Not sure what forum this belongs in.

Im currently a young mid-late twenties male who lives in NYC and likes cars. That is a recipe for disaster. I've always dreamed of owning/working on/driving cars but due to growing up low income and living in the city that was impossible. I finally got my first car in my early 20s (audi a4 3.0 auto) but it was such a hassle to own and use that the glam quickly wore off. I accepted it's too much of a hassle to own after spending more than what I paid for it in garage expenses insurance and parking tickets in like 4-5 months, and barely got to drive it. When I did get to use it I loved it, I attended some autocross events and would go on long drives upstate whenever I could. I would also go on trips with my friend in his 92 Miata and I had no idea you could have so much fun with 100 hp. 

I work in tech for a decently large company and they recently built a new office in midtown Atlanta. I have the option of relocating there. With all I've read it seems like a great place to live to be a car enthusiast with the weather, race tracks, and still having the ability to have space to keep and work on a car. I've been looking into it and it's something that's constantly on the back of my mind ALL day and I think I want to make the leap. I don't want to look back at 40 in nyc still yearning to have a sports car and experience a track day. I'm also single with no kids. 

If you had to advise someone in their 20s who wanted to learn how to work on cars and become a better driver in the ATL area what would you tell them? Where should I live? What cars should I buy first? 

I don't know if they're doing a location salary adjustment but assume annual income is atleast 85k+, very little student debt (less than 10k) with some savings. 

This is my plan so far: