Nitroracer
Nitroracer Dork
12/29/08 10:36 p.m.

Would it be completely stupid to turbo charge a perfectly fine running 91' Miata?

Right now my daily driver is a 91' NA with 145k and climbing. It doesn't burn any oil and the compression is still good (180psi avg). I am a noob to turbo charging. I have read about it, and under stand the basic concept, but haven't owned a car with one. I am looking at an intercooled greddy setup and my main concern besides grenading the engine is blowing up the 1.6L rear. I'll be doing a clutch job once the weather turns nice so I'll have a stock 1.8L clutch to back up the engine and Im going to replace the cas and valve cover seals as well. Since it is my daily driver I would like to get solid fuel/ign management but how easy is it to tune megasquirt for cold weather so I can use the car year round?

ReverendDexter
ReverendDexter Reader
12/29/08 10:44 p.m.

Shucks. I thought this was gonna be about a Turbo P71.

That being said, I think you'd be fine, so long as you went with a full kit like as sold by Flyin' Miata. They did an article a few issues back regarding FM's kit, and, while I've never owned a Miata, I was sold on it.

billy3esq
billy3esq Dork
12/29/08 10:49 p.m.

Hie thee to the Flyin' Miata web site post haste. All thy questions shall be answered.

grafmiata
grafmiata Dork
12/30/08 1:11 a.m.
Nitroracer wrote: Would it be completely stupid to turbo charge a perfectly fine running 91' Miata?

Actually, as of 6/24/07, in most states, I believe it's now a 3rd-degree misdomeanor to NOT to throw boost at a Miata!!!

But as the good Reverend and Billy said, check out FM's website. The initial cost may be a bit more than the Greddy, but overall it's pretty damn hard to beat their different packages. Their tech-support is awesome, as well!!!

Xceler8x
Xceler8x GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
12/30/08 10:25 a.m.