TheGaragista
TheGaragista
2/28/20 5:40 p.m.

Hey everyone, I'm a high school student who loves motorsport, especially Formula One. My goal is to one day become Team Principal of a Formula One team, and I thought that amateur racing would be an excellent hands-on way to learn about building and working on racing cars and would also be really fun. Obviously I don't have tens of thousands of dollars to work with, so my build will have to be relatively low-cost. (I understand it's often cheaper to buy a complete racecar but honestly I want to build) I have access to most of the necessary equipment, as my high school has a garage complete with car lifts and tools. I've been browsing Craigslist looking for possible project cars, and please provide some suggestions on relatively affordable donor cars I could use for my build. Thanks!

alfadriver
alfadriver MegaDork
2/28/20 6:28 p.m.

So while you are in high school, you should be planning ahead for your college education- and I would suggest finding a school that has a VERY robust Formula SAE team.   Here are some results of past events, where you can see what schools are competing, and which schools are competitive year after year- https://www.sae.org/attend/student-events/formula-sae-michigan/awards-results

Since you are more focused on F1, it may be a good idea to reach out to Haas F1- who are in North Carolina- and ask for school suggestions from them.

At the same time, it may be a good idea to ask them the exact same question you are asking here- they have a Careers page that may be a good contact to offer some direction right now-https://www.haasf1team.com/careers

In terms of racing that you can do right now- other than circle track driving, which does allow for younger drivers in their full systems, I'm not sure about road racing from HS- I'm sure someone else here knows that.