bigbrainonbrad
bigbrainonbrad New Reader
7/27/09 10:33 p.m.

Over the last couple of days, a 96-98 cobra has occupied my car desires. Then I quickly came to the conclusion that I am still a poor student and dropping 8 to 10 large on a car is somewhat out the window. Since I already have a miata, why not make it into the hooligan car a cobra is. The miata is a completly stock 1.6 model that is in good mechanical shape and slightly rough asthetic shape. Driving a car that looks rough really doesn't bother me too much but the slowness is another issue.

In the board's humble opinion what is a good all around method for pepping up a miata without tearing open the motor. I'm planning on megasquirting the car in the not to distant future to enable future modding. Would a small snail (gt25) or a old jackson supercharger be a better route to go? Low to midrange power is the goal, peak numbers are nice but in V8 speak I'm more concerned with the area under the curve.

Keith
Keith GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
7/27/09 10:38 p.m.

Go with the GT25.

http://flyinmiata.com/turbos/janel.php

And spend some time on the suspension. Put in a set of good springs and shocks and some R888s (now that SM is going to RA-1, they should pop up cheap) and work on adding some lightness.

The only way to make a car more fun in a straight line is to add more power, and there's no end to that slippery slope. But all you have to do to make a car more fun in a corner is add 1 mph to your entry speed.

Apexcarver
Apexcarver SuperDork
7/27/09 10:59 p.m.

http://forums.corral.net/forums/showthread.php?t=1141539

this one is already improved http://forums.corral.net/forums/showthread.php?t=1106555

http://forums.corral.net/forums/showthread.php?t=1133848

come onnnnnn

I enjoy mine, but cobras do have their weak points (CHASSIS!)

Xceler8x
Xceler8x GRM+ Memberand Dork
7/28/09 8:44 a.m.