1 2
Bobzilla
Bobzilla UltimaDork
6/21/16 7:49 p.m.

So some of you know I do oil analysis for a living. I've been doing a little experiment on Walmart Synthetic 5W20. In the Forte I went right at 9k miles. Heres's what it looked like:

This one is the wife's Rio. It's a 2008 with 112k miles on the DOHC Alpha. I've had plenty experience with this little motor in her old Accent with 250k and they are just about indestructible.

So was this too long? we'll know by the weekend!

failboat
failboat UberDork
6/22/16 6:51 a.m.

Interested to see this because I use the same oil. I try to stick to 5k oil changes but have been known to push it to 10k.

Bobzilla
Bobzilla UltimaDork
6/23/16 7:41 a.m.

waiting on hte base number, but the initial info looks pretty decent. Minor increase in wear from previous sample, but there is an additional 3k mile on it so likely accumulation. Viscosity is still in range and hte oxidation is a little higher, also from the extended interval. Should have the report this afternoon. I'll share as soon as I finish it.

singleslammer
singleslammer UberDork
6/23/16 7:59 a.m.
Bobzilla
Bobzilla UltimaDork
6/23/16 3:45 p.m.

Results are in... final report hasn't been sent but I've already analyzed it. 10,595 miles is perfectly acceptable on this car with this oil. The report will be a severity 3 because the base number (formerly referred to as total base number, or TBN) was almost depleted. But "almost" only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades.

So.... apparently it's not too far. Image of report coming soon.

Javelin
Javelin GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
6/23/16 3:46 p.m.
Bobzilla wrote: But "almost" only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades.

You forgot nuclear winter!

Seriously though, that's an impressive interval.

Bobzilla
Bobzilla UltimaDork
6/23/16 3:48 p.m.

In reply to Javelin:

Considering this oil costs $17 for a 5qt jug, I'm perfectly happy with it.

nderwater
nderwater PowerDork
6/23/16 3:49 p.m.