ScreaminE
ScreaminE HalfDork
8/20/14 8:40 p.m.

Carry over from my build thread. I am having issues with my MX-6. I'm not getting a 12v source to the light green (LG) wire to the Air flow meter. I've been tracing the wire to a relay as shown on page 50-29 of this link: Repair manual

The car still runs, but badly. I want to test the relay labeled D-5. I'm pretty sure it's not my problem, but I want to be 100% sure.

On to my question. How to test this relay?

I'm a wiring noob. This is the multimeter I'm using:

Kenny_McCormic
Kenny_McCormic PowerDork
8/20/14 9:37 p.m.

Generally speaking on a 5 pin, two of the pins run the coil, of the other three one is in, the other two are out, energizing the coil flips which out pin the in pin connects to. Usually there's a little block diagram on the side showing what pin is what and which way its normally (no power)closed.

You also need to check if you have power and ground in the socket for energizing the relay and feeding the input pin, all when its supposed to be, and whether or not you have good continuity in the wires going form the socket to whatever part you suspect is having a problem.

wae
wae HalfDork
8/20/14 9:44 p.m.

Looking at the wiring diagram, it appears to be a two coil relay and I don't remember how those work. If you can find numbers on the pins, 30 will be your common, 85 and 86 should be one of the coils, 87a should be the "output", but I don't remember how the second coil gets hooked up.

ScreaminE
ScreaminE HalfDork
8/20/14 9:49 p.m.

How do I check for continuity? The relay has nothing on it. No diagrams, no labels, nothing.

stuart in mn
stuart in mn PowerDork
8/20/14 9:56 p.m.

If you go to the next page in the manual, it shows the pinout for that relay in the upper left corner.

wae
wae HalfDork
8/20/14 9:58 p.m.