1 2 3
itsarebuild
itsarebuild GRM+ Memberand New Reader
1/20/10 2:49 p.m.

i have decided to try an HPDE event this may and the only car i think i will be able to get together by then is the e30 we brought to the 2009 challenge. since it cant be registered where i live i havent driven it much at high speeds through turns and the like and i am wondering if any of the e-30 folks out there can give me some advice about what typical items should be looked at more closely than usual before i go out there. i am already replacing the timing belt, the leaky steering rack, and putting in stiffer rear springs (seems to be a typical recommendation on the e30 forum). also, i am just learning. HPDE 1. i have a decent set of street tires (high performance summer). but i also plan to autocross this car this summer so i have a set of R compounds too. which should i bring with me? i want to get the most out of the HPDE 1 class and the instruction so i dont want to have the tires hide for correctable driving issues, but i dont want to be slowing everyone down either. any advice?

ReverendDexter
ReverendDexter Dork
1/20/10 3:04 p.m.

I wouldn't worry about R-compounds. I'd just run your street tires your first time out.

One thing that I'd definitely look at is your brakes. If you haven't flushed the fluid recently, do so, and put the highest rated fluid you can find. Get good quality pads at least up front (Hawk, Porterfield, EBC). They WILL get hot. My brakes are STILL spongy from the last trackday I did, hahaha.

And remember, while you can't win an HPDE, you can definitely loose.

Have fun!

Giant Purple Snorklewacker
Giant Purple Snorklewacker SuperDork
1/20/10 3:05 p.m.

First time out - bring the street tires, and an extra set of pads if they are under 50%. If you have upgraded pads - throw them in.

Check all the hoses, flush the brake fluid. Check the tie rods, ball joints, guibo, center support bearing, rear subframe bushings, motor mounts, fuel lines and wheel bearings.