DustoffDave
DustoffDave HalfDork
4/17/14 12:04 p.m.

First off, I am new to Hondas (and in fact, this is the first FWD car I've ever owned in 16 years of driving). I just picked up a very clean -- but in need of some help -- 1990 DX hatchback. It's not my DD and will mostly see duty as an autocross car and fuel efficient commuting alternative to my F250.

So, someone in my area is parting out a complete, running CRX Si and I've already grabbed the rear trailing arm/disc brake assembly (and grabbed the 2nd gen Integra parking brake cable from a scrap yard) and 4040 brake proportioning valve. What else should I be taking from this car and how much should I be paying? I gave the guy $120 for the brakes/valve. It's got new-ish rotors and pads. Was that a good price? Any help here is appreciated. If this was an older BMW, Miata, or Subaru, I'd have no problems, but as I mentioned, Honda is a new planet to me.

Thanks!

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
4/17/14 12:07 p.m.
DustoffDave wrote: So, someone in my area is parting out a complete, running CRX Si

Wait, what kind of sick bastard does this?

tpwalsh
tpwalsh Reader
4/17/14 12:09 p.m.

Could be complete, running, and very wrecked Si.

The motor's worth an extra 15hp, but requires the wiring harness and ECU. The trans has a 4.2 or 4.4:1 final drive, where your DX has a 3.8 final, worth about 5-700rpm @ 70mph.

bravenrace
bravenrace UltimaDork
4/17/14 12:10 p.m.

What year is the CRX? There were significant changes between 88 and 91.

DustoffDave
DustoffDave HalfDork
4/17/14 12:16 p.m.

Sorry, it's a '90. And the body was damaged, but not to where it would affect any of the mechanicals.

oldsaw
oldsaw PowerDork
4/17/14 12:32 p.m.

Pull the intake manifold and brace, distributor, injection harness, resistor box and the ecu; that gives you all the components to convert to MPFI.