3L33ter
3L33ter New Reader
1/3/18 4:13 p.m.

I have (among other cars) a 1974 Mercedes 280. It has the M110 2.8L straight-six. I'm new to this engine, but they say it's very performance oriented (for its day), and I can tell it likes to rev because down low it's just OK, but over 4000 it wakes up and starts to sing.

It has an awful exhaust manifold with like 2 inch runners going to a collecter at the FRONT, turning 180 degrees and going into a big juicy catalytic converter. '74 is smog exempt here in CA but I guess MB put cats on them back then. I've already sourced a set of headers from an earlier model.

Now I'm looking at the intake. This car is carbbed, and I don't care about carbs at all, so I don't want to bother learning about them and how to tune them. Particularly this Solex 4A1, which is apparently a headache and not very good for power. Some people have done TBI conversions on these carbbed engines. The factory also made 2 fuel injected versions, an EFI and MFI, so there are 3 very different intake manifolds to choose from.

So I'm thinking of what I want to do, but to start with I definitely want EFI with megasquirt. I'm not against a turbo, but I like the simplicity (especially in this simple car) of an NA straight six. Anyway, which manifold would you choose, and why?

Note, the injector ports are IN THE HEAD (for injected models) so all manifolds lack injector ports. I can weld them in if I wanted to go to port injection.

I'm not really asking for advice (but I welcome it!), I was mainly interested in starting a conversation on the different manifolds, what each one would be better for, and which one you would choose / what you'd do with it. In the end I think I'll just start with a TBI conversion on my current carb-manifold, and evolve/change it as time goes on.

Dr. Hess
Dr. Hess MegaDork
1/3/18 4:23 p.m.

I would go with Manifold #2, weld on injector bungs and a throttle body on the front.  Add Megasquirt.

dean1484