1 2
e23inGB
e23inGB New Reader
10/31/14 10:08 p.m.

My brother and I got in this yesterday after looking at a car. Does the perfect car exist? One that can do it all for X budget? We're trying to narrow down a vehicle for me next and it seems like not one single car can do it all in Wisconsin. Now, if there were no budget I'm sure this would be less of an issue, but does anyone else feel this way? (If I'm beating a dead horse with this topic just ignore me)

T.J.
T.J. PowerDork
10/31/14 10:21 p.m.
e23inGB wrote: Does the perfect car exist?

No.

BlueInGreen44
BlueInGreen44 Reader
10/31/14 10:24 p.m.

Station wagons.

JAhmed
JAhmed Reader
10/31/14 10:28 p.m.

No, but I'm sure everyone has an opinion on what the perfect car is...

Opti
Opti Reader
10/31/14 10:47 p.m.

No. I work on them for a living and they all suck in their own ways.

Example, I love my corvette and Ive always wanted a C5, and for what I spent many would say they are the best performance car you can buy, but they are horrible cars, they scrape on everything, a/c blows weak compared to appliance cars, tiny ass mirrors (never think itd be a problem until you try and use them), consumables and maintenance are expensive compared to appliances. Cars are all compromises and a compromise cant be perfect, you just have to figure out what you want and what your willing to give up for it.

Driven5
Driven5 HalfDork
10/31/14 10:53 p.m.

If there was, we would all be driving the same car. Instead everything is a compromise, and each individual prioritizes different characteristics at different points throughout their life. Ultimately leading us each to different cars as the cloesest we can get to our own current perfect.

When I lived in Wisconsin, my Miata was as close to perfect for me as anything.

wearymicrobe
wearymicrobe SuperDork
10/31/14 11:28 p.m.
e23inGB wrote: One that can do it all for X budget?

Even taking budget out of the equation I have yet to find a perfect single car.

e23inGB